December Awards, 2009

Another year comes to an end, and we stare at the dawn of a new year. I think this time is an interesting blend of the old and the new, when we try to recapture the passing and blurry moments from the last year, while looking forward to a new beginning, in many more ways than one.  It has been in this last year that I mainly started blogging, my blog now being a little more than a year old. The journey, as I had once mentioned earlier, has been remarkable, specially due to the many acquaintances that I’ve made. People, immensely talented, with prodigious writing skills, whose blogs are simply a delight to visit, and read. Considering my limited abilities, it has been even more remarkable (and humbling) to find such people of enhanced calibre taking time out to read and comment on my blog. The awards, that have come my way, therefore, are treasured, and cherished. I use this instance to accept, and to “re-award” the same, to some of my favourite bloggers… Here goes!!

On September 19, 2009, I was awarded the “Fabulous Blog Award” by Nila, from “Azure Depths“. She’s a hugely talented writer with a very engaging style. One can really relate to her posts, which deal with topics that strike nearer home.

On 24th September, 2009, Avada Kedavra from “Evanescent Thoughts“, gifted me the “Stylish Blogger Award”. What strikes out most is the variety that she puts into her writing… you couldn’t possibly classify her into any one particular genre. Her blog is a delightful “virtual” place to loose yourself in, with a colorful vista of engaging, interesting and intriguing articles. 

On 10th October, 2009, Danielle from “Me, In.com.plete” granted me the “Kreative Blogger Award”. A writer, who is elegance, personified.. that is reflected in her compositions. A brilliant poet, whose verses never cease to enthrall – they are creations of fine art! The way her poems progress, with their inherent themes and concepts, that embrace her muse like intriguing stories, is simply mindblowing.

I must say that presenting these awards to fellow bloggers seems a lot like taking a huge liberty. I’m not sure whether I’m “qualified” enough for the same. So, from where I look at things, this is  a gesture from my side, of appreciation that I feel towards these wonderful people for sharing their work.

                Oh, and I’ve noticed there are people who don’t accept awards as a principle. So, if any of you don’t want to acknowledge the awards, it is perfectly o.k. and please don’t think I’ll take any offence for it! This is totally voluntary!    

                Uhmmmmm, so now, (in synch with a virtual, “standing ovation”, and zealous “clapping”)…..
 
 
 1. The “FABULOUS BLOG” Award goes to :-
 
     (a) Val B. Russel, from “Words“. Her mature, insightful and colorful writing makes her blog one helluva place to visit. Her writing has a certain flair and flow which incites one to read, and read on!
    
     (b) Danielle, from “Me, In.com.plete“. Ah, to be able to compose such wistful, alluring poetry with exquisite imagery! Her blog is a “must-visit”.. and you’ll become an instant fan!
    
     (c) Jaymie, from “Jaymie Thorne’s Personal Musings“. She really makes the “words” flow.. like nature’s own gushing stream, as I once told her.. You’ll know what I mean, once you visit her Fabulous Blog!
 
 
2. The “STYLISH BLOGGER” Award goes to :-
 
      (a) Lorraine, from “Tell Me What’s On Your Mind“. The photos she puts up in this blog have a “voice” of their own.. They speak to you, compel you to perceive them in your own, creative way.. An unique talent, an unique style… truely, excellence, personified.
   
      (b) Shraddha, from “The Self Love Project“. Content, Class, Style… the works. You name it, her blog has it. Another must visit. Go see for yourself, and you’ll be hooked for ever!

      (c) Sam, from “Sam I Am (Not)“. She’s one who feels the elusive clairvoyant vibes, and they caress her compositions delightfully. You get that feeling of an “otherworldliness” when you read her verses…
 
 
3. The “CREATIVE  BLOGGER” Award goes to :-
 
      (a) Paul, from “Paul Wylie’s Blog“. I think the word “creative” best applies to him. Its breathtaking, the way he explores different genres, philosophies and emotions through his highly insightful poetry. Sheer brilliance, indeed! Do visit, and you will be amazed.
 
      (b) Lorraine, again, from “Words Flow and Stuff“. Ah, I’m a lifetime fan of those Haikus. Surely no one does it better than her!! Okay.. she had once closed the site for good, and then, had to restart it on (indignant and furious) public demand. That speaks of her creativity, talent and popularity!
 
      (c) Avada Kedavra, from “Evanescent Thoughts“.  The pseudonym reminds one of those delightful fictional characters from Harry Potter… her blog is no less delightful! Visit, and soak in the warmth of her immeasurable talent!
 
 
This concludes the Awards post. Have a happy, prosperous and adventurous year, 2010 ahead.

24 Responses to “December Awards, 2009”

  1. You missed your December 7 Best Blog Award from me – quite the full display case and very well deserved! I hope to see more of your writing in the coming year. Thank you for the fabulous Fabulous award! Have a fun filled (and safe) celebration tonight!!

  2. Thank you Dark Lord! I’m humbled yet honored to receive this award from you.

    Now, that I know you a little better, I feel you should have the pen name of “Bright Lord.” Your exquisite and brilliant use of words is so awesome to me! I consider you a great mentor and friend.

    Happy New Year, and may your life be full of successes and prosperity! I will visit your blog often and continue to learn from the best!!!

    -Paul

  3. You deserve them all. I humbly express my gratitude for naming me lol you’re too sweet. Like Paul (above)said , your name would be more appropriate as ‘Bright Lord’ than Dark one….although I understand the two sided-coin illusion. You make the world a better place. So young and you rock. Don’t change, Have a wonderful New Year’s day x
    and I will check out those award winners you honoured 🙂

  4. wonderful post I will be back…have happy New Year!! 🙂

  5. What a wonderful surprise to see my name here! Thank you! I am honoured to be on a list with such splendid writers and to have you feel my writing is good enough, is truly flattering. I send wishes for 2010 to be everything wonderful for you DarkLord.

  6. Happy New Year Dark Lord.

  7. You deserve them all and more DL. Your poetry is rich and alive, always enchanting. I always look forward to your latest and greatest. Kudos, my friend:)

    And..thank you. I am surprised, flattered and humbled by your kind recognition and your generosity….

    Happy New Year:)

  8. @ Jaymie :- Can’t believe I missed it. I’ll blame it on my absence, again, from blogland for a while this festive season… Thank you so much, I’ll surely acknowledge it in one of my upcoming posts!
    Oh.. the celebrations were plentiful… but I dunno about them being safe.. I was out cold the next morning for a flat 10 hours.. and then.. a terrible hangover!

    @ Paul :- Thank you, it was an honor for me to be able to award you!! Every one of your visits to my blog are a gift, and I would do the same, as I get to learn so much from your writings.
    A very happy new year to you too!

  9. @ Lorraine :- Thank you! It was a pleasure awarding you, after all, you’re my most fave haiku poet in the planet! Someday I wish I get to learn the nuances of haiku from you, and write some for myself! 😀

    @ Terri :- A very happy new year to you too! Thanks for the visit and your kind comment.. welcome to my blog!

  10. @ Val :- LOL I wouldnt think it was so surprising, after all, the way you write inspires me so, and invariably gets me into thinking mode 🙂 Truly, an honor to be able to award you.. Thanks for the acknowledgement!

    @ Paul :- Happy New Year! I’m looking forward to read more of your posts this year 🙂

  11. @ Danielle :- Thank you! Its so good to be able to fall upon your work, to look for inspiration.. Wish you a very happy and prosperous New Year!

  12. wowww.. thanks a ton 🙂 thanks so much for the lovely award. And thanks for such sweet words about my blog 🙂 Have a happy and prosperous new year!!! 🙂

  13. Very cool to see these blogs awarded… I was hoping for your take on the OSI prompt?? Let me know if it comes up… your blog is intriguing and I’d very much like to read more…

  14. @ Avada :- A very happy new year to you too! Was a pleasure, awarding blogs such as yours! Looking forward to read more of your works this year!! 🙂

    @ Shadowplay :- Good to see you by! Uh, actually, I’m on a “break” from serious poetry writing, so you’ll see I’ve not contributed to the last few prompts at OSI… Maybe next week!

  15. Ok, cool… It’s good to take breaks! Looking forward to reading your work another time then… Enjoy your time off!

  16. and i forgot to say that although occasionally I do a tanka or haiku or haiga, it’s not intentional, I’m really more of free style poet…so I just happen to get lucky a few times, you have to almost be at peace to do haiku and I’m afraid I’m a little restless 😉

  17. Hey D.L, you worked hard on this post. Congratulations for your awards and congratulations to the winners you picked.

    I do hope now your next task will be to finish up your OSI poem using the ‘wings’ prompt. I enjoy your poetry a lot.
    🙂
    ..

  18. I did a little study on P.G.Wodehouse, he was prolific in my book! Our library has some of his works, after I finish my ‘Drood’ by Dan Simmons. This book is written around the final years of Charles Dickens’ life and some speculations and fiction surrounding Dickens’ last novel. It’s long! 🙂
    ..

  19. @ Shadowplay :- Thanks for keeping in touch! The gesture is much appreciated! 🙂

    @ Lorraine :- Absolutely… I don’t think you can actually be classified in any one particular genre.. such is your versatility! I enjoy your short poems so much.. and the occasional longer ones rock! I look forward to reading more and more of your works.. 🙂

  20. @ Jim :- Thanks for dropping by… The post was interesting.. wouldn’t really term it as hard work!
    Ummm… actually, I’m on a break from serious poetry writing, as I mentioned earlier.. maybe you’ll see me posting on the next prompt for OSI. 🙂
    Yeah, Wodehouse, by far, is my most favourite comedy writer in english. I think he incorporates that element of wry sarcasm, and intelligent wit, which makes his writing all the more engaging. Have fun reading him!

  21. DL – wow. thank you so much for the “The “STYLISH BLOGGER” Award and the very kind words. What a surprise! =) Your comment about my blog was most flattering and coming from you makes it that much more. You are very deserving of the awards you received and I’ve grown very fond of your blog and writing too. Thanks again… and, write something soon, would ya?? =)

  22. The Dark Lord Says:

    @ Samantha:- Hey there! thanks for dropping by! A very happy new year to you, and the kind words are much appreciated!

  23. that you very much for the award..

    i am sorry for being too distracted with other things to come so late…

    its an honor to be in the lovely list.

  24. The Dark Lord Says:

    Thats ok.. thanks for dropping by! 🙂

Leave a comment