Lighthouse

I hear your murmured whispers from across the seas
Your dulcet tones borne by the salty winds
That caress my ageing soul with distant memories
Of you, and the warmth of an other place, far away
That beckon after the years spent
In solitude…

Would you, then, guide my wayward vessel
Through the leagues of bottomless ocean
As I journey back through time, O enduring love
And bear me in your loving embrace
In that abode I once called
My home

Note :- Next on will be my very first, year end Awards post… Watch this Space!!

32 Responses to “Lighthouse”

  1. good to see you back Dark Lord..

    that is absoultely fantastic post..

  2. Can you hear that Dark Lord? I’m applauding because that was absolutely wonderful!

  3. Beautiful wonderful longing….beacons that call us home.

  4. The Dark Lord Says:

    @ Shraddha :- Thank you! πŸ™‚

    @ Val :- Thanks so much..

    @ Jaymie :- Yes. Thanks for that wonderful comment.

  5. Home is the beacon. Thanks, Dark Lord.

  6. beautiful…loved it…

  7. The Dark Lord Says:

    @ Carlos Gesmundo:- It is, thanks, Carlos!

    @ Tulip :- Thank you! πŸ™‚

  8. Powerful and evocative, I love these lines:-

    “Your dulcet tones borne by the salty winds
    That caress my ageing soul with distant memories”

  9. and you’re back…what to say to this phenomenal timeless piece…I’m awestruck, again

  10. thou hast not lost thy sense of romanticism. me thinks it is as succinct as ever, and certainly as gentle as thine own heart to follow such a beacon as her smile, indeed.

  11. @ Duma Key :- ‘thank you for the visit! πŸ™‚

    @ Lorraine :- Thank you.. Hopefully now I’ll post more often.

    @ Charles :- Your comments are very tasteful, to say the least.. Profoundly poetical!

  12. Mummered whispers, guiding us back home. I liked this one, nice.

  13. You capture the welcome thought of home here.

  14. missed you lots !! so glad to read your wonderful ideas again πŸ™‚

  15. The nature of love is captured here. Well done.

  16. I truly enjoyed this .. the last stanza is my favorite. I love poems that speak with this voice … between the old and new, it’s refreshing if one can pull it off, and you did!

  17. Such passion and yearning in these words…lovely!

  18. It is a wonderful thing when we can find the light to guide us back home.

  19. full of the passion of longing and memory.

  20. ah – the loneliness of a long distance lover (again) πŸ˜‰

    home is anywhere there is love’s embrace

    a beautifully crafted poem

  21. Absolutely breathtaking words and verse. The message about how people come into our lives and guide us back to where we belong, which is appropriately how lighthouses guide ships into home port at night and through fog.

    Since technology and global positioning systems guide ships now, sadly lighthouses are becoming a thing of the past.

    Great writing good friend!

  22. …so sweet and romantic that light house is to you…:)

    awesome post Darklord!

  23. Well captured yearning!

  24. That was too good. Loved it πŸ™‚ I am sorry for the long silence. Hadnt commented on your older posts. 1 yr completed?! congrats!!! πŸ™‚

  25. hauntingly eloquent…such yearning and longing

  26. This has a beautiful rhythym and flow…like being gently rocked by a wave…your choice of language is so perfect for the subject. Beautiful, DL, as always.

  27. DL – this was exquisite. I thought, I already left a few words of praise here, but, it looks like I only meant to before… so, now, I am. Very, very nice…. it makes me think of longing and memories of love and home…

  28. Had to read it again, I just love it:)

  29. This is beautiful.

  30. breath taking…that’s all I can say!! Thank you for sharing your talent with us!

  31. Beautiful, simply beautiful! I rarely get to read such good poetry. I would say the same about your site, what you said about mine, that it’s one where you visit and want to spend time, to admire and relate to all that is written.

    Thank you for visiting my site. Keep writing!

  32. Sunetra Malik Says:

    It is one of best!!! Dulcet tones, salty winds, take us to our own space of isolation and solitude …with a search for serenity in distant memories!!

Leave a Reply

