Elusive

Do you sustain me
O elusive beauty
With memories
Of the lingering kisses
And sweet promises
Of undying love
And the traces
Of your perfume
That overwhelms
My lonely self
With your silent presence
Even when you are gone
So many miles
From my weary heart

42 Responses to “Elusive”

  1. ah! the elusive dark lord returns with amazing poem for us readers!

    thank you!

  2. The Dark Lord Says:

    Thank you! šŸ™‚ Well, I try not to remain elusive but at times, sadly, circumstances make me miss what I love doing best!

  3. Hi there D.L, this is the kind of poem I wanted to write. I nice romantic promise to one who has flitted away. Been missing you. šŸ™‚
    ..

  4. The silence of your absence is replaced by the volume of this piece. I sense the sadness in it. I have hope for your rebounding to the next level and realize all things happen for the best. Hold strong my friend. You are a unique talent that will not be quieted by circumstance.

  5. The Dark Lord Says:

    @ Jim :- Nice to see you around, šŸ™‚ and glad of such fullsome praise!! I’ve missed you too, all the while.. Feels good to be participating in OSI after all the while, and read your works!

    @ Luther :- Welcome back, brother, šŸ™‚ thanks for being there! Missed you…

  6. Such sweet sadness! Yet there is a promising inner strength that survives the undeniable reality of loss!

  7. Beautiful with a poignancy to it. Welcome back.

  8. Oh my Dark Lord, I so love this one .. it’s so elusive, yet well defined.

  9. don’t you know that i love the way you gave justice to this prompt this week?

    šŸ™‚

  10. I have written of romance and separation from my love also. Nice meditation; I can relate.

  11. I can feel the yearning of unrequited love…beautiful.

  12. elusive beauty indeed.. this poem did justice to that word and how!! loved it dude! elusive that romance!

  13. Oh, to be comforted by beauty. Being open to this comfort requires wisdom.

  14. a classic tale of love being missed šŸ™‚

  15. Oh, yes, a scent can bring it all back!

  16. ah, one i truly identify with
    long distance love can be such a bummer
    parting is sad, meeting again is like the first time all over again

  17. @ Gemma :- Sometimes, the inner strength is all we have and need to go on..

    @ Anthonynorth :- šŸ™‚ Thank you.. always a pleasure to see your comments!

    @ Amias :- Thank you, much appreciated!!

  18. @ Amity Me :- Hmm.. in that case, i feel utterly humbled and thankful! šŸ™‚

    @ Loch Rob :- Am looking forward to reading your take on the prompt then!

    @ Sweetest in the Gale :- Thank you!

  19. @ Leo :- Thanks for the encouragement.. your kind words are much appreciated!

    @ SandyCarlson :- Indeed, yes.. I believe beauty has a lot more to it than what merely meets the eye of the beholder..

    @ Prats :- I dunno about classic, but a tale it is! šŸ˜‰

  20. @ Linda Jacobs :- Absolutely!

    @ Ann :- You summed it up so well.. which is why we so look forward to the meeting-again part! šŸ™‚

  21. elusive beauty….indeed!

  22. the sweet scent of memory long gone, tender words so full of longings

  23. Ah, like this very much. Such bittersweet sadness. Lovely words and images.

    love, Melanie

  24. @ if :- There’s something about elusive beauty..indeed..

    @ Lissa :- Thanks for stopping by!!

    @ Melanie Bishop :- Thank you! šŸ™‚

  25. Beautiful way to capture the longing – make it solid so that you can hold it. I love memories and moments.

  26. Yearning and haunting piece. Nice work.

  27. lingering memories that feel romantically sad~
    lovely piece.

  28. lovely poem dear:)…thank u for sharing:)…beautifully captured

  29. Outstanding, ephemereal and haunting…there is essence here and I love it šŸ˜‰

  30. @ Jaymie :- Must say, it feels great to see your comments! šŸ™‚ Thank you for stopping by… šŸ™‚ And yes… Don’t we all!

  31. @ Tumblewords :- Thank you…

    @ Tammie :- “romantically sad”… That is indeed one way of looking at it!

    @ Tulip :- Much appreciated, and glad you liked it! šŸ™‚

  32. @ Lorraine :- Wow, coming from you, one of my most fave poets, feels great!! Thank you!! šŸ™‚

  33. so sad, so often true. Very nicely done.

  34. Dark Lord!

    That is one of the best ones I’ve ever read. Your unapproachable talent sways benign writers like me. I have been part of that very scenario on many occasions as a hopeless romantic as well. Man’s hearts can easily be broken and push us to share our feelings, which you splendidly did so well on this verse. I’m visiting your blog more often my friend like I was doing previously to starting college. You never lost your edge as I have done!!! šŸ˜€

  35. yes…. one can only hope of feeling such sustain… or leaving one we love with it.

  36. Glad to see you back! Very haunting…

  37. endurogirl Says:

    So many miles from my weary heart.

    I feel your melancholy and salt wound wistfulness.

    A lovely read. Thank you

  38. love. difficult to find. evasive. painted beautiful on the dark screen before my eyes

  39. This is so simple and amazing..
    Truely ad simply expressed what i felt when I was writing in my diary about how a scent can bring back all the memories..
    A scent, a perfume, a piece of music, a kiss.. and much more can bring back a person who is far.. far away..

  40. This masterpiece of yours is really favourite of mine…
    after reading dis 1 … u made me recall my brake up !!!
    u r simply a genius.. šŸ™‚

  41. It doesnt take a genius to make the words flow, my dear…. all it takes is heart, a bagful of emotion, and the guts to spill it all out… thank you, nonetheless, for your kind comment! šŸ˜€

  42. Sunetra MalikS Says:

    “Elusive” is one of the loved ones for its exquisite beauty of sweet memories of love!!

Leave a Reply

