Wistful scapes..

*A poetic attempt after quite a gap.. It sure felt good, to be writing again!

White seagulls amidst grey skies
Greyish sea, one with the sky
Misty frame with widening scopes
Settling chill with salty winds
Defined by the bold masts
Of red and black, and navy blue
Belying the greenish hue..

23 Responses to “Wistful scapes..”

  1. I feel as though I am looking at a painting of a seascape. Beautiful calming piece.

  2. you paint the picture well…glad you exercised those muscles…oh and happy belated bday…mines saturday.

  3. Beautiful poetry!!! I do love the sea!!- Happy Belated Birthday! (and thanks for visiting my site again- it is so much appreciated!)

  4. So serene. Glad you’re back!

  5. Oh so precious, so beautiful, I love the Sea, and right here you evoked it so so well

  6. @ Luther :- Glad you liked it.. though I guess it was a bit rusty, if you know what I mean!

    @ Brian Miller :- Thank you! It sure was good to “exercise those muscles”! Hope you have a wonderful week leading to your birthday..

    @ Patti :- Thank you! πŸ™‚ Oh, and the pleasure was all mine!

    @ Calliopespen :- Thank you for the warm comment, and your encouragement!

    @ Lorraine :- Thank you, you are too kind! Your appreciation is much, much cherished.. πŸ™‚

  7. absoloutely beautiful…

    you are one of my most faviorite authors…

  8. i half expected a rhyme in the middle i don’t know why. i think it was the meter. it just seemed to have a meter to it. like waves. which is excellent because of what you are describing. i do not know if you did it intentionally or not but it is very wistfully writte. very nice.

  9. Seems like I have imagined that sea with seagulls, the flame with widening scopes….May be I know what you mean!
    Sure, do write again…..will love to read your poems! And this one, is really very nice.

  10. Makes me feel like I should be sitting on a dock. Now you’ve done it! I need to book a flight, I’m land locked.

  11. It makes me feel as if I’m right there on the ocean “Settling chill with salty winds.” Superb description!!!
    You’re a word magician and can pull blue whales out of a hat. No pun intended!
    Great verse!!!

  12. @ Shraddha :- Wow! Thats a big compliment, thank you! πŸ™‚

    @ Charles :- hmmm.. I like it that you like it! πŸ™‚

    @ Neilina :- Thank you for the kind words.. The sea scapes are something that we all wistfully imagine!

    @ Jaymie :- πŸ™‚ I’m glad.. we all need to “book that flight” sometimes..

    @ Paul :- Thank you! You’re always kind with your comments..

  13. Hey D.L, this is a nice application of sporadic, occasional rhyme. I am sure I missed some of it. But it has very nice construction for what I can find. Having said that, I do hope it was intentional.
    That helped greatly in making it a poem instead of a grouping of very descriptive sentence fragments. Nice. πŸ™‚
    ..

    White seagulls amidst grey skies
    Greyish sea, one with the sky
    Misty frame with widening scopes
    Settling chill with salty winds
    Defined by the bold masts
    Of red and black, and navy blue
    Belying the greenish hue..
    ..

  14. Oh yes, and thanks for peeking in on my OSI. I would have liked to have seen what you would have done with this almost unheard of and seldom used word.
    I know it would be great. πŸ™‚
    ..

  15. nice one….after a gap…:P

  16. Jim, thanks for dropping by.. It is always “revealing” to read your comments! I don’t usually rhyme… and the instance of the rhyming “blue” and “hue” was an exception, albeit, a conscious one… More often than not, you could categorise my humble compositions to a “narrative” genre, if I could term it that..

    @ Baljinder :- Thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚

  17. you set the mood beautifully then
    broke it with splashes of vibrancy

    lovely

  18. This reminds me why I love the ocean so much… you captured the essence perfectly. I agree with Jim… this was a true poem with incredible construction. Absolutely LOVED this!

  19. Beautiful picture painted!
    Hey this feels like osi-oceans prompt!

  20. @ Ann :- Thank you for your kind comment.. πŸ™‚ I’m glad you thought so!

    @ April Belle :- I hope so! πŸ™‚ I agree, “oceans” have an intriguing mystery to them..

    @ Shraddha :- Thank you! Now you mentioned it, it sure appears so.. But I guess, it isin’t for that particular prompt, I wrote it rather late..!

  21. wow.. another beautiful poem from you.. this reminds of those lovely beaches πŸ™‚

  22. Sunetra Malik Says:

    I must say, this piece reminds me of Wordsworth’s “By the Sea”… mesmerising and captivating expressions indeed!!

Leave a Reply

